DEPARTMENT OF DEVELOPMENT CONTROL The Department of Development Control is a multi-disciplinary establishment created in March 2002 out of the then Land, Planning and Survey, Department of FCDA. The Department was given the primary responsibility of guiding, directing and controlling physical development within the Federal Capital Territory, a duty that was previously performed by […]

FCTA assures Abuja residents of safety

  FCTA assures Abuja residents of safety The Federal Capital Territory (FCT) Security Committee has called on residents to take the issue of security seriously in their neighbourhoods, work and worship places. The committee also cautioned against the use of fireworks saying that the ban on the use of fireworks in the territory is still […]


THE FEDERAL CAPITAL DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY… Builders of Abuja.   On February 5, 1976, the Federal Government established the Federal Capital Development Authority (FCDA) as the sole agency vested with the responsibility of planning, designing and developing the city. This brief even extended to constructing and maintaining infrastructure such as “roads, railways, sidings, tramways, bridges, reservoirs, […]

History: How ABUJA Came To Be The Federal Capital Territory

The States (Creation and Transitional Provisions) Act No. 14 of 1967 dividing Nigeria into twelve states had Lagos doubling as the Federal Capital and the Capital of Lagos State. This dual role understandably heightened the pressure on the infrastructural facilities that existed then. And the pressure was manifested in various economic and social ills among […]

History: FCT Past Ministers Since 1976, First Was A Westerner

Mobolaji Ajose-Adeogun 1976–1979 John Jatau Kadiya, 1979–1982 Iro Abubakar Dan Musa, 1982–1983 Haliru Dantoro, 1983–1984 Mamman Jiya Vatsa, 1984–December 1985 Hamza Abdullahi, 1986–1989 Gado Nasko, 1989–1993 Jeremiah Timbut Useni, 1993–1998 Mamman Kontagora, 1998–1999 Ibrahim Bunu, 1999–2001 Mohammed Abba Gana, 2001–2003 Nasir Ahmad el-Rufai, 2003–May 2007 Aliyu Modibo, 2007–2008 Adamu Aliero, 2008–2010 Bala Abdulkadir Mohammed, 2010–2015 […]