On February 5, 1976, the Federal Government established the Federal Capital Development Authority (FCDA) as the sole agency vested with the responsibility of planning, designing and developing the city. This brief even extended to constructing and maintaining infrastructure such as “roads, railways, sidings, tramways, bridges, reservoirs, water courses, buildings, plants and machinery and other works as may be necessary for, or conducive to” the discharge of its functions in the light of Decree No. 6 of 1976.

In June 1977, the FCDA commissioned a team of international planning consultants, the US-based IPA Group, to prepare a draft Master Plan for the new Federal Capital of Nigeria. And a little more than 18 months later, the 286 page Master Plan was published. The Master plan envisaged Abuja being built in the Northern quadrant of the FCT, which functioned as a cordon sanitarium and as an agricultural hinterland.


The Federal Capital Development Authority (FCDA) is a creation of Decree No.6 of February 5, 1976 cited as the Federal Capital Territory Act. The Decree which vested ownership and control of all land in the area to the Federal Government also gives the FCDA the onus of handling the design, planning and construction of the Federal Capital Territory with the following functions:

To oversee the infrastructural and physical development (planning, design and construction) of the new Federal Capital.

Ensuring that it conforms to/surpasses the standard of new Capital cities around the world. Paying special attention to inclusivity, functionality, design and aesthetics.

To choose a site within the Capital Territory for the location of the Capital City

To prepare a Master Plan for the use of land in the Capital City as well as the rest of the Capital Territory;

To provide public/community services within the Capital Territory;

To establish infrastructure such as roads, railways, bridges, reservoirs, water course buildings and other such works as may be necessary in the FCT

To co-ordinate the activities of the Area Councils, Departments and other Agencies of the government of the Federation within the FCT.


The Administration of the Federal Capital Development Authority


The Executive Secretary of the Authority is the Chief Executive Officer (CEO) who directs and runs the day-to-day administration of the Authority. And he is supported by an Executive Management Committee (EMC). The EMC is made up of Directors of Departments and Heads of Units of the Authority; there is also a 10 member Board constituted by the President to formulate policies and supervise the activities of the Authority on a part time basis.

The FCDA Board is chaired by the Minister of the Federal Capital Territory. But with the reform agenda of the el-Rufai Administration in the FCT, the FCDA had its departments re-structured into nine (9) departments and four (4) Specialized Units as follows:


Finance and Administration
Urban and Regional Planning
Engineering Services
Resettlement and Compensation
Public Building
Surveying and Mapping Units
Mass Housing
Satellite Town Infrastructure


Internal Audit
Special Project/IT
Legal Services
Public Relations and Protocol

Post Author: Admin IEM

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *